Psalm 8:4
What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?

Psalm 103:14
For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.

I was riding in the backseat of a friend’s car the other day. While we were going a long, a small winged insect landed on my open window. Without even a thought I flicked the bug off the window.

How often do you find yourself harming an insignificant insect without even showing the least bit of emotions? I’d say it is most likely a weekly activity. Not in the since that we plan out our next attack, but rather that it’s a natural occurrence. We don’t even think about it. It just is as it is.

Seriously, do you shed a tear or show concern when you realize that you just stepped on an ant pile? Not likely. For that matter you have probably spread insect poison in your yard to purposefully get rid of them. Just a couple weeks ago I dug up an old stump in our yard that was infested with some kind of red insect with wings. Do you know that I went out and spent $7.45 for pellets that I could spread over the stump area and throughout the yard? I even bombed the inside of our home for safe measure.

Now, what did these insects ever do to me? Were they a threat? Not much of one.

Lest you think that I am advocating for PETI (People for the Ethical Treatment of Insects) or that I’ve become some loon that believes killing insects can be equated with murder. Let me say without hesitation, that I am NOT!

But, there is a point to my ramblings…

I was perusing one of my favorite political blogs a bit ago, and there was this article about two views on God. Basically, John of RWN fame wrote a response to an article that questioned the existence of God. The premise for the article in question was that if indeed there is a God, why would He have allowed the Holocaust or Rwanda, or any other vile act for that matter? How could He allow the devastation of New Orleans? Therefore Mr. Cohen (the author of the article in question) came to the conclusion that since these events did occur and since God surely would not have allowed these events to occur, the only explanation must be that God does not actually exist. Therefore, no intervention = no God.

Here are some quotes from the article that John brings in question:

Now, though, Benedict has actually said something. He said more or less what I did after visiting Auschwitz/Birkenau — and before that, Treblinka, and afterward, Buchenwald and Terezin. He said what I said after reading a shelf of books on the Holocaust and listening to the stories of survivors: "Why, Lord, did you remain silent? How could you tolerate all this?'' Only I put it differently. Where were you, God? I don't think you were silent. I don't even think you were there. Religious people can wrestle with the pope's remarks. What does it mean that God was silent? That he approved? That he liked what he saw? That he didn't give a damn? You tell me. And what does it mean that he could "tolerate all this''? That the Nazis were OK by him? That even the murder of Catholic clergy was no cause for intercession? I am at a loss to explain this. I cannot believe in such a God.

This is a God who was away from his desk or something and did not notice the plumes of human ash reaching to the heavens themselves. Is that what the pope wants us to believe? No, I think it is something even worse: If God was silent, who could blame the church for being silent, too? Is that what Benedict is saying? If so, he is continuing the tradition of saying nothing.

I know Holocaust survivors who are religious. I don't understand it. I know others who feel that Auschwitz is proof that there is no God. I understand that. I am sure there are people who feel that way about Biafra or Rwanda or even Hurricane Katrina. I can understand all of that, too.I give Benedict some credit. Not from him do we get the inane god of American optimism, the deity of American politics who is always compassionate and on our side and will make everything just wonderful if only we put our faith in him." 

Let’s put some things in perspective. As I sat in that car and without thought flicked that bug as if it meant nothing, the glorious grace of God dawned upon me. Do you realize that we are but dust? We are insignificant in many ways. In comparison there is not much difference between the ratio of an ant to a man, and the ratio of a man to God. Actually God is much more higher than us than we are to an ant.

And that my friend is the beauty of it all. Even though we can not compare with all that God is, God has still chosen to make us to be in His image. God still allowed Himself to become a man so that He could die in our place. God has elevated us above all his creation and a little lower than the angels.

How many of you, would allow yourself to take the form of an ant so that you could die in their place? How many of you would run out in the rain and protect an anthill from being washed away? How many would defend the ants or other insects from their predators?

If you and I who are higher beings than an insect, would not inconvenience ourselves for the insect, would it be safe to say of us that no intervention = no existence? If an ant could think on these lines, do you suppose that they may think that since we (who had the power to do so) did not intervene to save 1,000’s of helpless ants in the rain last night, that we must not exist? I suppose they might, but they would be wrong. Just as Mr. Cohan is wrong about God and what appears to him as a lack of intervention in New Orleans. Furthermore it could be argued that many saw the wonderful grace of Jesus throughout the catastrophe of that hurricane.

Even still, the fact that God does visit His creation, that He does intervene from time to time is a greater statement, not just of His existence, but of His grace. For we truly are but dust. “What is man that thou art mindful of him…?”

Leave a comment…

